Maranatha

Austin 1992

When my kids were little and I thought my days were rough.  I couldn’t wait until Rick got home.  I’d station one little boy at the window, another at the door and they would wait expectantly.   Some couples make a big deal of greeting each other warmly, I think I just told the kids, “Daddy’s home!!!” and had them run outside to greet him.  I’m sure the cheers were heart-warming to him, but the peace and quiet were my goals.

I was selfish and I pretty much remain selfish now. I was waiting for my husband, my

Charleston 1990

partner, the love of my life, to come home because I needed a break from the demands of being a mom of small children.  I wasn’t anticipating his return because of how much I loved him and wanted to see him, though I did love him and want to see him.  Instead, I wanted him home because I was thinking about me.

In the same way, I have been thinking recently and regularly of how the changes in culture, post-modernism, and political turmoil have all made me long for the return of Christ.  I see diminished options for our national future and I have less hope for the future of our children and grandchildren and even the church.  So– Come, Lord Jesus, Maranatha!

I’m doing the same thing, am I not? A friend wisely reminded me that there is no wrong

Whenever he is ready, let my heart be his.

reason to long for the return of Christ, but I don’t think my heart is completely right on this.  I want to wait expectantly for the second coming of Christ, not as just relief from the burdens of this world, but because of how much I love him and long to see his face. I want to be so in love with my Savior that I can’t wait to be with him because where he is–is my true home.

About rickandjan

We are missionaries serving as the SE Region Director of Operations with Cru Military. Rick handles the operations and Jan tries to keep up with the communications.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maranatha

  1. Erick says:

    Reminds me of Mike’s motto – to seek to do the right things, for the right reasons, with the right attitude.

  2. rickandjan says:

    I like that! I just need to work on me!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Just read this, love it.

Leave a Reply

