Take-Away

Israel was who God chose to work through, a beginning point, not an ending point. They were chosen to accomplish His work, not be his work. 

The church is who God chooses to work through, a beginning point, not an ending point. The church is chosen to accomplish his work, not be his work.

I know it doesn’t seem like a particularly deep concept, but this gem is one of my biggest take-aways from the Old Testament Survey class I took this semester.  For me, it is a paradigm shift of great proportions.

For some reason, whenever I thought of Israel/the Chosen People, I thought about it as if there were a gold star on their heads.  That for reasons unknown to me, God chose Abraham and his descendants and this choice was to bring favor and honor upon them for their own good.  In the same way, he chose me so that my life would be better and my eternity secure.

Oh so wrong.

We were chosen to accomplish his work, not be his work.

Duh.

And in accomplishing the work of faith that he has for us, we become like him.  We don’t become like him for our sake, but for the benefit of those God calls us to walk among.

Ephesians 2:10
For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

I’m still learning, it’s not all about me.

About rickandjan

We are missionaries serving as the SE Region Director of Operations with Cru Military. Rick handles the operations and Jan tries to keep up with the communications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take-Away

Leave a Reply

