Thanks-giving–the holiday that never has to end!

When everything doesn’t fall into place easily and life isn’t “simple,” do you question if you are outside the will of God for your life? I do.

Rick and I have been on staff with Military Ministry, in the ‘ready-room’ so to speak, to be on staff for 14 months. During this time, we have been working on Ministry Partner Development, building a team of supporters, financial and prayer, who are willing to invest in us and in this ministry waiting to see how our warriors and their families, churches, and chaplains can be helped through the resources and partnerships Military Ministry has to offer. We believe it is where God has led us, even though it seems like we’ve been in this phase for quite a while — we trust Him.

Mostly.

When I get to the point of frustration, I begin to question everything.

Did God really call us?
Was I really listening?
Should we have looked in other places for employment?
Have I failed to repent and I need to learn more lessons?
Are we still in Tampa because there are people here we need to share life with and learn from?
Where did I mess up?
Is God angry with me?
Am I being punished for disobedience?
Does God really love me?

So, I decided to look at scripture to find out who else God loved and who seemed to have to spend an inordinate amount of time waiting when they were trying to obey. I thought of Noah, who was the only good man, chosen by God to survive, yet he spent 40+ years building a boat in front of a world that had never seen rain. And Abraham was called out to “go to a place I will tell you” and wait for a promised child. We never forget Joseph who had a dream of God’s favor and spent years as a slave and in prison. Poor Moses was forced to wander and wait. Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were faithful to God and they spent time in a fire. Ruth met Jehovah through her husband and his family and then her husband died. David was anointed as the future King of Israel, but had to hide to save himself from Saul. Paul obediently took the gospel to the world, but he was often chained to Roman guards. And then there was Mary…

I found out that there isn’t much special about me~

God had called each of these people to accomplish specific tasks for Him, but it was never in their time, but in His. Today’s reading for my devotion was Hebrews 11–good timing, right? I was reminded of the heroes who BY FAITH conquered, quenched, escaped, won, suffered…offered up his only son. By faith.

So, I remember that God is faithful and I try to be.

But I know I might be tempted to look for teaching positions or other work–or encouraging Rick to send out his resume´–except for ONE other thing–the faithfulness of those of you who are already our Ministry Partners.

We have financial support from friends and strangers who have given graciously with precious little to see, as we work on partner development. We have friends and strangers who have prayed for our ministry and for our warriors who serve in dangerous places and train for dangerous jobs. We have supporters who have helped us by opening their homes to us when we travel or when we need fellowship. Other team members are using their skill sets to help develop this ministry. And some share our posts on facebook or with other friends and we become a little more visible each time they do! One has even given us a home to live in, allowing God to work in us and teach us while we are developing our team. Some call and keep reminding us: BY FAITH! 🙂

8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

So if I train myself–force myself–to think on THOSE things, I can see that I have so very much to be thanking God for each and every day.

I pray that I would, that we all would, have the eyes to see the God’s gracious hand towards us–By FAITH!

Thank you Jesus. Thank you friends.  The photos on this blog are just a few of the people and things we thank the Lord for daily.  If your photo is here, please know we are thankful for you; if it’s not here, please know we are thankful for you too!

About rickandjan

We are missionaries serving as the SE Region Director of Operations with Cru Military. Rick handles the operations and Jan tries to keep up with the communications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks-giving–the holiday that never has to end!

  1. Nita Pride says:

    Hi Rick and Jan,
    I have been away for a week and am just now catching up on reading emails! David Preston and I went to CA to visit the teams there. I wish you could hear Michael Cook talk about what she is learning from Hebrews 11! We are so thankful for you two and for your perseverance and faithfulness. The Lord does have His perfect timing for you, for me, for all of us who love Him. Thanks for sharing so honestly. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas. I am just starting today to decorate 🙂 I think I will leave all the decorations up most of January! God bless, Nita

  2. rickandjan says:

    Thanks Nita–encouraging words are always appreciated!
    Jesus, we trust YOU! 🙂

Leave a Reply

