Prayer Matters


I love Skype.
Especially since we moved away from so many important people. And for a long time we knew no one in Tampa Bay. Because of Skype and Facetime and Gmail chat I can talk to friends and see them at the same time.

I can Skype with Macedonia, where Linda is serving in the Peace Corps. Linda has given us her house near Tampa to live in; she is my childhood next-door neighbor and best friend. Her generosity has given us the opportunity to begin this work with Military Ministry, but she is doing amazing things herself. You can read about Linda’s work in Macedonia at: http://ler1246.wordpress.com

We also Skype regularly with Dave and Karen in Germany. Dave has been Rick’s best friend since
the Academy and we recently marveled how God brought the two of them together in those hallowed halls! We get to chat regularly with them, the two couples sitting on the couch, one in Tampa with the AC still on and the other couple in Landstuhl, lamenting the cold. They are also doing God’s work for our warriors; check out the TBI clinic in Landstuhl, Karen is a nurse there and Dave is an administrator: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/21134540/vp/44426490#44426490 )

Rick Skypes and chats on a regular basis with friends in foreign lands and with those in the “stans” and he has the opportunity to be an encouragement to those in harm’s way. And they encourage him beyond what they can know to be used by the Lord in their lives.

I like that… a lot.

We also skype with our kids–Erick, Mike & Steph, and Kate are still in Northern Virginia. But it seems that whenever there is a Skype conversation,with my kids, there is a lot going on. I imagine that someone says, “Hey, we haven’t talked to mom and dad in a while, let’s Skype them.” And everyone in the room responds, “Yeah! Lets do it!” (I have a vivid imagination.)

So, despite of the fact that there is a football game on, 8 people in the house, a few dogs and cats, and multiple distractions–the call goes through. And I/we get to see their faces, new haircuts, the Marley’s new trick, and changes in the apartment.

I’m glad someone thinks of me. I’m glad I am loved. I am happy to participate in conversations and sporting events via the internet. I appreciate the silly faces that Steph makes when Erick talks and the fact that everyone can get up and cook a meal, eat and go out for dessert while we are skyping together.

I HATE SKYPE.
really. a lot.

All I really want is a conversation with one or two at at time. No distractions–not even football. No jokes, no conversations with someone in another room. No dog tricks. No cat tricks. Just words between me and the people I hold most dear. I want to be able to hear their hearts, even in the small talk–I want to know how they are really doing.
I guess it isn’t skypes fault–don’t shoot the messenger and all that–But…

Just this past weekend we listened to a sermon on prayer–“Does Prayer Really Matter?” Matthew is teaching a series that challenges us to think about some basic questions of the Christian faith. And we were offered the idea that for a Christian, praying is like breathing. I agree. And I pray through out my day, as the Holy Spirit calls people and situations to my mind. But with all of the distractions I am wondering if this is like “Skyping” with God. As much as it is enjoyable, is it enough?

God wants to hear my heart and know that I’m okay. God wants my undivided attention too.

So I am seeking to set time apart for one-on-one time–just God, just me. Its easier for me than most people right now, beginning this ministry allows for a whole lot more flexibility in the minutes and hours of my days. But if I crave personal time with each of my children and they bless me when they give it to me, how much more must God miss that time with me.

“He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And how great Your affections are for me.

And oh, how He loves us so,
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all”—David Crowder Band

About rickandjan

We are missionaries serving as the SE Region Director of Operations with Cru Military. Rick handles the operations and Jan tries to keep up with the communications.
This entry was posted in family, friends, Military Ministry, prayer, Traumatic Brain Injury, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer Matters

  1. Wonderful. I’m so sorry I couldn’t make it to Tampa so we could sit ONE on ONE and share our hearts. You are always in mine.

Leave a Reply

