Who do you think is going to do it for you?

I have a new “mantra.” It runs through my head and moves me to action. Its only been going on for a few days now, but I hope it sticks around.

The thought came into my head after I read in the book of Job. God asks Job so many questions and Job has no decent answers. I know the questions are rhetorical anyway but they stop Job and cause him to examine himself and his inner life. Job was a faithful man anyway, but he still had to check himself and he realized that he had spoken without true understanding, that he had heard the words but then he saw and believed. (Job 42)

So my new thought is, “Who do you think is going to do this for you?” Not exactly deep for a “mantra,” but it works for me. Rick was away and as I put my dishes in the sink instead of the dishwasher I heard the question, “So…? Wo do you think is going to do this for you?” I’m not a teacher any longer and there are no hands raised begging to clean up and sort my stuff! I put the dishes in the dishwasher. The trash can was filled to the top and I shut the lid and the question came back, “So…who do you think is going to do this?” I took out the trash. The mail came and I laid it on the counter, I didn’t want to see the bills and the little voice spoke to me again, “Who do you think…?” I sorted the mail, threw out the trash and sorted the rest. Yesterday I noticed thick dust with cat hair hanging from the ceiling fan in the living room (how did the cat hair get up there?). I sat down to read and then the voice rang in my head. “You’re 55, this is your house. Who do you think is going to clean that dust off for you?” This kind of thing has been going on for almost a week now and while its hard to resist the enticement of procrastination, the voice isn’t giving up. Rick came home and he is hearing the voice too…

Years ago, we learned a definition of self control and it seems to be what is important in this–controlling self. Self control is “instant obedience to the initial promptings of the Holy Spirit.” I’m hearing His promptings and He makes me able to obey. If you know how I struggle with disorganization, you know this could be a big deal!

But what happens when the voice starts meddling in other parts of my life? Last night we drove past a woman standing in the Walmart parking lot holding a sign saying, “Hungry–will work for food.” What if the voice said, “Who do you think is going to help her?” What happens when the noisy kids next door want to stop in and the voice says, “Who do you think is going to introduce them to Jesus?” What if our church needs volunteers for VBS or the chapel needs Sunday School teachers: “Who do you think is going to be my hands and feet?” the voice asks. Will I go? Will you go?

Or when it says, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” (Isaiah 6:8) Will I respond like Isaiah and reply, “Here I am. Send me!”

About rickandjan

We are missionaries serving as the SE Region Director of Operations with Cru Military. Rick handles the operations and Jan tries to keep up with the communications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

