When I am weak, then I am strong.

Rick and I are still in the North, enjoying the fall colors and the cool temperatures.
We have celebrated birthdays with our family and we have been extended gracious
hospitality in many homes. We were able to attend a conference at McLean Bible
Church and hear Major General Bob Dees, the executive director of Military Ministry,
share even more about the needs of our service members and what is being done
through the efforts of MilMin and other organizations to help our military heroes and
their families.

Most importantly we have been able to share our vision and call to Military Ministry with
old friends and new friends and see God’s hand go before us to allow us to begin this
new work. It is easy to tell people all we know about the needs of our military; their
stories are compelling and their sacrifices have materially ensured our liberties and well-
being as a nation. If I keep the stories of these brave, but hurting men and women
before me, somtimes its hard to stop talking!

Conversely, it is equally hard to tell our friends and acquaintances about our needs
in Ministry Partner Development. Yesterday at lunch, a new friend told me, “Okay,
you have me hooked, tell me, how can I help?” And an old friend said, “They need
money!” I can’t bring myself to say those words, but then it has always been difficult
admitting that I’m not self-sufficient in any area. My most common response to offers
for every- day help is, “No thanks, I’m fine–I’m good…” For most of my life I’ve deluded
myself into believing that asking for help admits weakness…or that I’ve done something
wrong…or that I’m not as competent as everyone else maybe? I hate that thought. So,
what’s wrong with being weak?

Paul talks a lot about weakness to the Corinthians. In chapter 2 he admits that
“I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling.” That’s how I feel when
we first contact someone to share our vision and call and its how I feel when we have
to ask if someone will pray about supporting our ministry. Its nice to know that I’m in
good company. But Paul doesn’t leave it there, he goes on to say, “My message and
my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the
Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.”

I do realize that we aren’t sharing the gospel, as Paul was, at least not while we are
working on Ministry Partner Development, but we are participating in the work of the
Spirit as He offers each person we meet with the opportunity to send Rick and me out to
be His vessels of the Good News and the practical results of receiving the Gospel. And

since it is all a work of the Spirit, the partner development, the sharing of the Gospel,
and our future work as missionaries… I guess I shouldn’t be afraid of doing anything
except trying to do it in my strength alone…

About rickandjan

We are missionaries serving as the SE Region Director of Operations with Cru Military. Rick handles the operations and Jan tries to keep up with the communications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

